Spider-Man: Homecoming – Review

Can a Sony and Disney partnership hold together to bring us a decent Spider-Man film?

Yes, yes it can.

Spider-Man: Homecoming is the best Marvel film to date, it’s absolutely amazing. So true in fact that you could say it’s the amazing Spider-Man film. Now I can hear some of you now, “But I liked the Tobey Maguire spiderman, especially the second one with the crazy octopus doctor guy.” I mean sure, they were entertaining at the time but let’s be honest, watching them today I’d only see about half an hour of them because the rest of the time I’d be face-palming. Also Spider-Man 2 sucked. Moving on.

Tom Holland plays Peter Parker aka Spider-Man, and he absolutely nails this character. He’s a scrappy funny kid who’s eyes for heroism are a bit bigger than his stomach. But even better than this fresh new face is Michael Keaton who plays as the big bad guy. Now a great super hero film is only as good as the villain, and holy crap is Michael Keaton a great antagonist. I won’t say more because I dont want to spoil anything.

Another reason why this film is so amazing is because of the pacing and writing. It’s an excellently paced story that doesn’t trip over itself and manages to take some jabs at the previous cinematic attempts in the process. It set up the villain and gave clear motivations for his actions. Plus it managed to give me a wtfidstc (what the f***, I didn’t see that coming) moment, and to surprise me takes a lot of work, I’m so used to calling the big twist just a few moments into a film. It was a very refreshing experience.

What else can I say about this film? It’s fun, it’s funny, it’s riveting, intense, thoughtful, and surprising. The supporting cast is great. I honestly can’t think of anything I didn’t like about this film, and I’m very excited and can not wait to see it again.

5star

Leave a Reply

